RVRA is proud to acknowledge and thank the past Board Members and contributors to the association. 

If any present or past Member has any historical information that could be included in this history, please Contact Us



The first RVRA Board held office from August 1994 until August 1995 and consisted of:

  • Mr R.J. (Jack) Allen – President – Jenny Macleod Village, Wallsend
  • Mr Mannie Burnham – Vice President – The Heritage Village, Padstow Heights
  • Ms Anne Wheble – Secretary/Treasurer – Dee Why Gardens Village, Dee Why
  • Mr Jack Bird – Nareen Gardens Village, Bateau Bay
  • Mr John Craggs – RSL War Veterans Village, Narrabeen
  • Mr H.C. Macallum – Goodwin Village, Woollahra
  • Mr Ray McKenzie – Associate
  • Mr N.D. Oliver – Bramblewood Village, Normanhurst




Dorothy Swanton (Dec’d), - RVRA’s first honorary life member - in recognition of her stepping forward to take up the role of RVRA Secretary, following the sad demise of President Jan Pritchett and Secretary Malcolm McKenzie in close succession in 2014.


At the 2020 RVRA Annual General Meeting, the meritorius services of Diana Glazer and Tom Gait were recognised and they were both awarded Life Membership of the RVRA. 


Many of our previous Board members have received State and National recognition for their contributions, including:


2002 - Barbara Burnham had received the “Premiers Seniors Achievement Award” for volunteer services to Retirement Village Residents.

2003 - Neville Carnegie awarded the Centenary Medal by the Queen for service to Retirement Village Residents.

2011 - Barbra Dillon  awarded the Order of Australia Medal General Division for service to youth through the Guiding movement in the Queen’s Birthday Honours.

2014 - Jan Pritchett was awarded the Kuring-gai Lions Club Community Service Award.

Both Jan Pritchett (dec.) and Malcolm McKenzie (dec.) were honoured at the 2014 RVRA AGM with Special Recognition Awards for their outstanding work and contribution to the Association and to retirement village residents throughout NSW.



To see the members of the Board for previous years, please click on the appropriate term below:




2018/2019   2017/2018   2016/2017   2015/2016   2014/2015  2013/2014   2012/2013   2011/2012   


2010/2011   2009/2010  2008/2009   2007/2008   2006/2007   2005/2006   2004/2005  


2003/2004   2002/2003   2001/2002   2000/2001   1999/2000  1998/1999  


1997/1998  1996/1997